I really hadn’t expected this.

I mean, the ads said it was an adult book, so I expected some swearing and some sex. This book had heroin addicts, prostitution, rape, sex, cutting, suicide, married couples hating each other, and much, much more.<br /><br />I agree with other reviewers that J.K. Rowling wanted to prove that she could write an adult book, and so went overboard on all the adult elements. But I found that none of the characters were likable (except for maybe Sukhvinder), and I only finished the book because I wanted to see it through. (I have this thing about books where I feel like I have to read the whole thing once I start a book, even if that means just skimming through it.) I thought that maybe Howard and Shirley Mollison were the only happy(ish) couple until I got to the end, when I realized there are none.

About how all the fathers in this book are terrible or unlikable people–I’m guessing J.K. Rowling took inspiration from her own life.

I wanted to like this book, but I ended up giving the book a grudging two stars because of the characters. Even if I didn’t like them much, their lives and motives were explored well and I felt that deserved at least 1 1/2 stars.

Read other reviews at:
http://www.goodreads.com/review/list/10042535-sophie

Wow that was tiring. I just figured out how to do this.

