I visited the link below for a blancmange recipe, which I immediately tried out. I mean, who doesn’t love Victorian Era desserts? My comments and how the recipe went can also be seen at that link.

http://jeriquinzio.typepad.com/behind_the_recipe_jeri_qu/2009/04/little-women-and-a-short-tale-of-blancmange.html

No, actually, I’ll make it easy for you. My comment is posted below.

I tried this recipe, but I used 1 cup milk, a pinch of salt, 1 1/2 tablespoons cornstarch (a lot, I know, but I tried it with 1 1/2 teaspoons and it didn’t thicken), a little orange and lemon extract, and 2 tablespoons powdered sugar. It came out nice, thick, a little sugary, bland–but it was blancmange! I’m not really the best cook, and so my family was pleasantly surprised. However, only one of my daughters liked it as much as I did. Great simple blancmange recipe!

